Our Leadership

Sue Gillespie

President and CEO 

Sue is a strategic leader who enables positive social change by realizing opportunities, leveraging partnerships, and creating spaces for innovation. She has a deep understanding of the interaction between complex systems and the related social, economic, and technological impacts. Her adaptive leadership is evident through her ability to create dynamic, agile teams which are strengthened through her mentorship and mission-oriented approach. She is skilled at securing financial investments by identifying and aligning partners’ resources and values to create meaningful impact. 

National Board of Directors

As the governing body of Pathways to Education Canada, the National Board of Directors oversees our policy development, sets our strategic direction, and monitors our performance against our goals. 

Vincent Mercier, Chair
Davies Ward Phillips and Vineberg LLP

Lori Pearson, Vice-Chair 
Managing Partner and COO, Brookfield Asset Management

Jad Shimaly, Treasurer 
Chairman and CEO, EY

David Ain
Partner, Egon Zehnder

The Honourable Gloria J. Epstein 
Reviewer – Independent Civilian Review into Missing Person Investigations

Katherine Gibson 
SVP Finance and Controller, RBC

Wes Hall 
Executive Chairman and Founder, Kingsdale Advisors

John James 
NCO, RCMP (Retired)

Myriam Legault
Educator, B.Ed, M.Ed, D.E.A.

Brett Marchand 
Chief Executive Officer, Blue Impact Inc. and Executive Chairman, Cossette

Pamela Sugiman 
Dean, Faculty of Arts, Ryerson University

Nisita Tappata (Pathways Alum) 
Digital Strategy Innovator, Oxford Properties Group

Lara Skripitsky
Vice-President & Chief Technology Officer, McDonald’s Canada

National Campaign Cabinet

The National Campaign Cabinet is a group of volunteer leaders who use their networks to support our fundraising initiatives, help plan our major campaigns, and direct our funding. 

Jay Mehr, Co-Chair 
President, Shaw Communications Inc.

Carolyn Acker 
Founder, Pathways to Education

Glen Campbell 

Paul Cowling 
Senior Vice President, Legal & Regulatory Affairs, Shaw Communications Inc.

Patrick Fejer 
Principal, B+H Architects

Mark Harris
Partner and Managing Director, Boston Consulting Group

Gervais Jacques 
Managing Director, Aluminum – Atlantic, Rio Tinto

Grant Kernaghan 
Managing Director, Citigroup Global Markets Canada

David Kines
President and Co-Founder, Hollywood Suite Inc.

Danny McCarthy 

Eric Rawlinson 
Central Leader, EY

Maddy Ross 
Pathways Alum

Nicole Swales 
Investment Counsellor, Mawer Investment Management Ltd.

Silvy Wright 
President and CEO, Northbridge Financial Corp. 

Research Advisory Council

The Research Advisory Council is an advisory body of accomplished Canadian researchers from diverse fields who share research and feedback and provide us with critical evidence-based insights. 

Aliya Ali
Royal Canadian Air Cadets Program, Pathways to Education Program Alumna

Allison Hearns 
Law Student, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University, Pathways to Education Program Alumna

Isabelle Archambault, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

Véronique Dupéré, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

Konrad Glogowski, Ph.D. 
Director, Research and Evaluation, Pathways to Education Canada

Carl James, Ph.D. FRSC 
Jean Augustine Chair in Education, Community & Diaspora, York University

Janet Lane 
Director, Centre for Human Capital Policy, Canada West Foundation

Sinead McCarthy 
Vice President of Growth and Development, Youth Employment Services

William A. McMicheal, Ed.D. 
Vice President, Board of Directors, Pacific Community Resource Services

Kate Tilleczek, Ph.D. 
Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier 1)

Alumni Advisory Committee

The Alumni Advisory Committee is a group of Pathways alumni who guide our decision-making and facilitate our alumni engagement.

Tyler, Chair 
Pathways Hamilton, 2009

Richard, Vice-Chair 
Pathways Regent Park, 2001

Montaha, Secretary 
Pathways Regent Park, 2005

Pathways Winnipeg, 2008

Pathways Regent Park, 2006

Pathways Winnipeg, 2010

Pathways Halifax, 2012

Pathways Kingston, 2010

Pathways Regent Park, 2002

Pathways Scarborough Village, 2009

Pathways Regent Park, 2008

National Indigenous Advisory Circle

The members of the National Indigenous Advisory Circle are Indigenous leaders, educators, and entrepreneurs from across the country. Their role is to lend their knowledge and expertise that helps to build awareness and understanding of the cultures and histories of Indigenous peoples with the goal of increasing Indigenous graduation rates across Canada.

Dale D. Awasis 
ThunderChild First Nation, Saskatchewan
Director of Education, Tallcree Tribal Government, Tallcree Alberta

Elder Mae Louise Campbell 
Elder in Residence, University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Social Work and Red River College

Dr. Marie Delorme 
Métis Nation of Alberta
CEO, The Imagination Group

Darren Googoo 
Director of Education, Membertou Mi’kmaq First Nation
Council Chair, CEA/EdCan Network

Helen Robinson-Settee 
Dauphin River First Nation
Director, Indigenous Inclusion Directorate, Ministry of Education

We are grateful for and acknowledge the past participation of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and Sunburst Consulting, and we are actively seeking further Inuit representation and guidance on our National Indigenous Advisory Circle.